Courses and certifications

Courses & certifications: 12 options

Free labs, games, courses and certifications in AI security, listed without a ranking. We show format, cost and duration exactly as each provider states them. Pick training by role: an engineer needs lab practice and a governance lead needs a credential.

  • 12 options
  • Last reviewed

Skills and training for the Governance and risk layer of our AI security layers. Courses sit outside the eight layers.

Executive summary

What it is
Free labs and games, structured courses and paid professional certifications in AI security, listed with the format, cost, duration and level each provider states, and marked not documented where a provider is silent.
The risk
Training bought without a clear goal leaves gaps: engineers without practice on prompt injection and agent abuse, or governance staff without the framework vocabulary that audits and customer reviews use.
What to buy or do
Match training to the role. Send engineers to free labs first, fund certifications where a checkable credential is needed, and confirm cost and syllabus on the provider's page before you buy.

Courses, labs and certifications

Format, cost, duration and level appear exactly as each provider states them. Courses are not scored, and we list a missing value as not documented rather than guessing.

Certification

Certified AI Security Professional (CAISP) by Practical DevSecOps

Practical DevSecOps Source, checked October 21, 2026: practical-devsecops.com (opens in a new tab)

The Certified AI Security Professional (CAISP) is a course and certification from Practical DevSecOps. Its syllabus has seven chapters, including attacking LLMs, LLM Top 10 vulnerabilities, threat modeling AI systems and supply chain attacks in AI. Training is self-paced with browser labs and instructor support. The certification exam is online: candidates solve 5 challenges in 6 hours and then have 24 more hours to submit a report. The page states no formal difficulty level.

Format
Self-paced online training with browser-based labs and 24/7 instructor support Source, checked October 21, 2026: practical-devsecops.com (opens in a new tab)
Cost
List price $1099 (the page gives no currency code); a discounted price is also shown, so see the provider for the current price Source, checked October 21, 2026: practical-devsecops.com (opens in a new tab)
Duration
60 days of browser lab access and 3 years of video access Source, checked October 21, 2026: practical-devsecops.com (opens in a new tab)
Level
Not documented in the sources we checked
Exam
Online task-based exam: solve 5 challenges in 6 hours, then 24 more hours to submit a report Source, checked October 21, 2026: practical-devsecops.com (opens in a new tab)
Prerequisites
Knowledge of running basic Linux commands; scripting in Python, Golang or Ruby is helpful but not required Source, checked October 21, 2026: practical-devsecops.com (opens in a new tab)

Topics

  • Understanding and attacking large language models
  • LLM Top 10 vulnerabilities
  • AI attacks and defenses using DevOps
  • Threat modeling AI systems
  • Supply chain attacks in AI
  • Emerging threats, governance and compliance in AI

Best for: AppSec, DevSecOps and MLOps engineers who want a self-paced course with a practical certification exam on AI and LLM security

Certification

Cloud Security Alliance: Trusted AI Safety Expert (TAISE)

Cloud Security Alliance Source, checked October 21, 2026: cloudsecurityalliance.org (opens in a new tab)

TAISE (Trusted AI Safety Expert) is a certificate from the Cloud Security Alliance, developed with Northeastern University. It has ten modules that range from AI basics and generative AI architecture to threat taxonomy, governance and compliance, cloud and AI security, and data security and privacy. CSA sells it only as a training plus exam bundle for $795, with two exam attempts. The exam has 60 multiple-choice questions in 120 minutes, and 80% is needed to pass.

Format
Online self-paced course in English, or virtual or in-person instructor-led lectures; sold only as a training plus exam bundle Source, checked October 21, 2026: cloudsecurityalliance.org (opens in a new tab)
Cost
$795 for the training and exam bundle, which includes 2 exam attempts valid for 2 years; there is no exam-only option Source, checked October 21, 2026: cloudsecurityalliance.org (opens in a new tab)
Duration
Not documented in the sources we checked
Level
Not documented in the sources we checked
Exam
60 multiple-choice questions (6 per module), 120 minutes, 80% to pass; 2 attempts included Source, checked October 21, 2026: cloudsecurityalliance.org (opens in a new tab)
Prerequisites
No prerequisites for the exam; basic familiarity with AI, cloud and security concepts is recommended, and CSA suggests its CCSK as foundational preparation Source, checked October 21, 2026: cloudsecurityalliance.org (opens in a new tab)

Topics

  • AI model lifecycle and threat taxonomy
  • Model governance, risk management and compliance
  • Introduction to AI security and safety
  • Cloud and AI security
  • Data security and privacy in AI systems
  • Ethics, transparency and explainability in AI

Best for: Professionals responsible for AI adoption, governance, compliance, risk or technical security who want a vendor-neutral certificate that bundles training and the exam

SecAI+ is a CompTIA certification exam (series code CY0-001) that launched on February 17, 2026. CompTIA lists four domains: basic AI concepts related to cybersecurity at 17%, securing AI systems at 40%, AI-assisted security at 24%, and AI governance, risk and compliance at 19%. The exam has up to 60 questions in 60 minutes, and the passing score is 600 on a scale of 100 to 900. CompTIA estimates retirement about three years after launch. The page shows no price.

Format
Certification exam of up to 60 multiple-choice and performance-based questions Source, checked October 21, 2026: comptia.org (opens in a new tab)
Duration
Not documented in the sources we checked
Level
Not documented in the sources we checked
Exam
Exam series code CY0-001 (V1), launched February 17, 2026: up to 60 questions, 60 minutes, passing score 600 on a scale of 100 to 900; retirement estimated 3 years after launch Source, checked October 21, 2026: comptia.org (opens in a new tab)
Prerequisites
Recommended experience: 3 to 4 years in IT and 2+ years in cybersecurity; Security+, CySA+, PenTest+ or equivalent knowledge is also recommended Source, checked October 21, 2026: comptia.org (opens in a new tab)

Topics

  • Basic AI concepts related to cybersecurity (17% of the exam)
  • Securing AI systems (40% of the exam)
  • AI-assisted security (24% of the exam)
  • AI governance, risk and compliance (19% of the exam)

Best for: IT and cybersecurity staff who hold or are working toward CompTIA credentials and want an exam that weights securing AI systems most heavily

Learning path

Coursera (IBM): Generative AI for Cybersecurity Professionals

IBM, offered on Coursera Source, checked October 21, 2026: coursera.org (opens in a new tab)

This IBM specialization on Coursera teaches generative AI skills for cybersecurity careers. It has three courses: generative AI introduction and applications, prompt engineering basics, and generative AI for a cybersecurity career. Coursera marks it Intermediate, at 12 weeks and 5 hours a week, and says no prior experience is necessary. The page lists skills such as incident response, threat detection and SIEM, and it offers a shareable certificate. The page states no price.

Format
Online, self-paced specialization of 3 courses with lectures, readings, assignments and projects Source, checked October 21, 2026: coursera.org (opens in a new tab)
Cost
No price stated; the page shows an Enroll for free button while its FAQ says it cannot be taken for free, and financial aid is available Source, checked October 21, 2026: coursera.org (opens in a new tab)
Duration
12 weeks at 5 hours a week; the three courses run 8, 10 and 10 hours Source, checked October 21, 2026: coursera.org (opens in a new tab)
Exam
Not documented in the sources we checked
Prerequisites
None required: the page FAQ says no prior experience is necessary to get started Source, checked October 21, 2026: coursera.org (opens in a new tab)

Topics

  • Generative AI introduction and applications
  • Prompt engineering basics
  • Generative AI for a cybersecurity career
  • Listed skills include incident response, threat detection, threat modeling and SIEM

Best for: Security practitioners and newcomers who want a structured introduction to generative AI and prompt engineering applied to security tasks

Course

DeepLearning.AI: Red Teaming LLM Applications

DeepLearning.AI Source, checked October 21, 2026: deeplearning.ai (opens in a new tab)

Red Teaming LLM Applications is a short DeepLearning.AI course made with Giskard and taught by two Giskard staff. It has seven video lessons, one reading and a graded quiz, 1h 39m in total, and is marked Beginner. Lessons cover LLM vulnerabilities, red teaming chatbots, red teaming at scale, using LLMs to red team LLMs with Giskard's open-source library, and a full assessment. Enrollment is free, and a graded assignment needs PRO membership.

Format
Self-paced online short course: 7 video lessons, 1 reading and 1 graded quiz Source, checked October 21, 2026: deeplearning.ai (opens in a new tab)
Cost
Free to enroll when checked; the page says access is free for a limited time, so see the provider for current terms, and the graded assignment needs PRO membership Source, checked October 21, 2026: deeplearning.ai (opens in a new tab)
Exam
One graded quiz; a graded assignment and an accomplishment are available with PRO membership Source, checked October 21, 2026: deeplearning.ai (opens in a new tab)

Topics

  • Overview of LLM vulnerabilities
  • Red teaming LLMs, including prompt injection attacks on chatbots
  • Red teaming at scale
  • Red teaming LLMs with LLMs using Giskard's open-source library
  • A full red teaming assessment

Best for: Developers and security staff who want a short beginner-level introduction to red teaming LLM applications and know basic Python

Learning path

Hack The Box Academy: AI Red Teamer path

Hack The Box Source, checked October 21, 2026: academy.hackthebox.com (opens in a new tab)

AI Red Teamer is a Hack The Box Academy job role path of 12 modules, built in collaboration with Google. The modules run from AI fundamentals through prompt injection, LLM output attacks, AI data attacks, attacks on AI applications and MCP, evasion attacks, AI privacy and AI defense. HTB marks the path Hard. The path page states no duration, price or prerequisites. HTB's certifications page lists a separate COAE certification for this path.

Format
Online job role path of 12 modules (230 sections) on HTB Academy Source, checked October 21, 2026: academy.hackthebox.com (opens in a new tab)
Duration
Not documented in the sources we checked
Exam
HTB's certifications page lists the HTB Certified Offensive AI Expert (COAE) for this path at $490; exam length not stated Source, checked October 21, 2026: academy.hackthebox.com (opens in a new tab)
Prerequisites
Not documented in the sources we checked

Topics

  • AI fundamentals (Module 1) and building AI models for infosec tasks such as spam, network anomaly and malware classification (Module 2)
  • Introduction to red teaming AI (Module 3) and prompt injection attacks, with jailbreak research (Module 4)
  • LLM output attacks, including improper handling of LLM outputs and LLM abuse
  • AI data attacks on training data and data pipelines
  • Attacking AI applications and systems, including the Model Context Protocol
  • AI evasion attacks, AI privacy attacks and AI defense

Best for: Offensive security practitioners who want a structured path from AI fundamentals to attacking LLM applications and machine learning models

Certification

IAPP AIGP (Artificial Intelligence Governance Professional)

IAPP Source, checked October 21, 2026: iapp.org (opens in a new tab)

AIGP (Artificial Intelligence Governance Professional) is an IAPP certification focused on AI governance. IAPP describes it as covering AI systems and responsible AI principles, how laws apply to AI, and the AI life cycle and risk management. The exam has 100 questions and is taken through Pearson VUE, at a test center or remotely. IAPP lists US$649 for members and US$799 for non-members, and its store page states no prerequisites.

Format
Computer-based exam at a Pearson VUE center or remotely through OnVUE Source, checked October 21, 2026: store.iapp.org (opens in a new tab)
Cost
US$649 for IAPP members or US$799 for non-members (exam); the non-member initial maintenance fee is included Source, checked October 21, 2026: store.iapp.org (opens in a new tab)
Duration
Not documented in the sources we checked
Level
Not documented in the sources we checked
Exam
100 questions in 2.75 hours plus a 15-minute break; complete within one year of purchase; the certification term is two years Source, checked October 21, 2026: store.iapp.org (opens in a new tab)
Prerequisites
Not documented in the sources we checked

Topics

  • Foundational knowledge of AI systems and responsible AI principles
  • How current and emerging laws apply to AI
  • The AI life cycle and risk management
  • Awareness of debated AI governance issues

Best for: People who work on AI governance and want a credential covering responsible AI principles, AI laws and risk management across the AI life cycle

Certification

ISACA AAISM (Advanced in AI Security Management)

ISACA Source, checked October 21, 2026: isaca.org (opens in a new tab)

AAISM (Advanced in AI Security Management) is an ISACA certification aimed at people in security or advisory roles who work with AI systems. ISACA's page lists three practice areas: AI governance and program management, AI technologies and controls, and AI risk management. Candidates must already hold an active CISM or CISSP, pass a computer-based exam at a PSI center or remotely, and pay a US$50 application fee. The page does not state the question count or exam length.

Format
Computer-based exam at PSI testing centers or remotely proctored Source, checked October 21, 2026: isaca.org (opens in a new tab)
Cost
US$459 for ISACA members or US$599 for non-members (exam), plus a US$50 application fee paid after passing Source, checked October 21, 2026: isaca.org (opens in a new tab)
Duration
Not documented in the sources we checked
Level
Not documented in the sources we checked
Exam
Pass the AAISM exam, then apply for certification; the page does not state the number of questions or the exam length Source, checked October 21, 2026: isaca.org (opens in a new tab)
Prerequisites
An active CISM or CISSP certification, plus adherence to the ISACA Code of Professional Ethics and the Continuing Professional Education Policy Source, checked October 21, 2026: isaca.org (opens in a new tab)

Topics

  • AI governance and program management
  • AI technologies and controls
  • AI risk management

Best for: Holders of CISM or CISSP who want a credential covering AI governance, AI risk management and AI controls

Course

Learn Prompting: AI Red Teaming and AI Security Masterclass (AIRTP+)

Learn Prompting Source, checked October 21, 2026: learnprompting.org (opens in a new tab)

The AI Red Teaming, Prompt Hacking and AI Security Masterclass is an on-demand course from Learn Prompting that comes with an AIRTP+ certification exam. Learn Prompting lists about 25 hours of material in four modules: AI red teaming basics, prompt hacking and vulnerabilities, advanced red teaming and defense, and automation with tools such as PyRIT. The $1,199 price includes an exam voucher. The exam is a 24-hour practical assessment, and passing it earns the certification.

Format
On-demand, self-paced recorded lectures with written study guides and practical projects Source, checked October 21, 2026: learnprompting.org (opens in a new tab)
Cost
$1,199 one-time payment, including the AIRTP+ exam voucher (one attempt plus one free retake) Source, checked October 21, 2026: learnprompting.org (opens in a new tab)
Duration
About 25 hours of learning, plus a separate 24-hour exam window Source, checked October 21, 2026: learnprompting.org (opens in a new tab)
Level
Not documented in the sources we checked
Exam
AIRTP+ practical exam in a 24-hour window; passing the exam earns the certification, finishing the course alone does not Source, checked October 21, 2026: learnprompting.org (opens in a new tab)
Prerequisites
Basic familiarity with AI tools like ChatGPT is useful Source, checked October 21, 2026: learnprompting.org (opens in a new tab)

Topics

  • Introduction to AI red teaming, classical security principles and the OWASP Top 10 for LLMs
  • Prompt hacking techniques and AI vulnerabilities
  • Advanced red teaming and AI defense strategies
  • Automated red teaming tools such as PyRIT, and advanced prompt injection

Best for: People who want a self-paced prompt hacking and AI red teaming course that ends with a practical certification exam

Learning path

Microsoft Learn: AI security fundamentals

Microsoft Source, checked October 21, 2026: learn.microsoft.com (opens in a new tab)

AI security fundamentals is a free Microsoft Learn path of three modules. They cover how AI security differs from traditional security and AI-specific attacks such as jailbreaking and prompt injection, security controls such as content filtering, metaprompts and grounding, and an introduction to AI security testing and red teaming. Microsoft marks the path Beginner and lists basic AI and security concepts as the prerequisite. The page text does not state a total duration.

Format
Online learning path of 3 modules on Microsoft Learn Source, checked October 21, 2026: learn.microsoft.com (opens in a new tab)
Duration
Not documented in the sources we checked
Exam
Not documented in the sources we checked
Prerequisites
Familiarity with basic artificial intelligence and security concepts Source, checked October 21, 2026: learn.microsoft.com (opens in a new tab)

Topics

  • AI-specific attacks: jailbreaking, prompt injection, model manipulation, data exfiltration and overreliance
  • AI security controls: supply chain security, content filtering, metaprompts, grounding and monitoring
  • AI red teaming and the three categories of AI security testing

Best for: Developers, administrators and security engineers who want a free introduction to AI security threats, controls and red teaming

Labs

PortSwigger Web Security Academy: Web LLM attacks

PortSwigger Source, checked October 21, 2026: portswigger.net (opens in a new tab)

PortSwigger's Web Security Academy has a free section on web LLM attacks. It explains how attackers abuse language models that are wired into web applications, covering prompt injection, calls to LLM APIs and functions, insecure output handling, indirect prompt injection and training data poisoning, and it covers defenses. The Academy offers interactive labs for practice, and an account is used to track progress. The provider does not state a duration, level or exam for this section.

Duration
Not documented in the sources we checked
Level
Not documented in the sources we checked
Exam
Not documented in the sources we checked
Prerequisites
Not documented in the sources we checked

Topics

  • LLM attacks and prompt injection
  • Exploiting LLM APIs, functions and plugins
  • Insecure output handling
  • Indirect prompt injection
  • Training data poisoning
  • Defending against LLM attacks

Best for: Web developers and penetration testers who want free practice labs for attacks on LLM-backed web apps

Course

SANS SEC545: GenAI and LLM Application Security

SANS Institute Source, checked October 21, 2026: sans.org (opens in a new tab)

SEC545 is an advanced SANS course on securing generative AI and LLM applications. SANS lists five syllabus sections: GenAI and LLM security risks, securing GenAI applications, agentic AI security, MLSecOps and the application lifecycle, and AI for security. It runs 5 days instructor-led or 30 hours self-paced, and it links to the GIAC AI Platform Security (GAIPS) certification. SANS lists US$8,260 for the OnDemand format.

Format
In person or live online over 5 days, or OnDemand self-paced (30 hours) Source, checked October 21, 2026: sans.org (opens in a new tab)
Cost
US$8,260 for OnDemand (4 months of access) and some live events; US$8,375 for some other live events; excludes local taxes Source, checked October 21, 2026: sans.org (opens in a new tab)
Duration
5 days instructor-led or 30 hours self-paced; 30 CPEs Source, checked October 21, 2026: sans.org (opens in a new tab)
Exam
Linked GIAC AI Platform Security (GAIPS) exam: 1 proctored exam, 54 questions, 2 hours, minimum passing score 65% (versions released on or after July 25, 2026) Source, checked October 21, 2026: giac.org (opens in a new tab)
Prerequisites
Linux command line basics, AI coding assistants, Git and CI/CD (GitLab CI), VS Code with AI extensions, container fundamentals with introductory Kubernetes, and AWS fundamentals Source, checked October 21, 2026: sans.org (opens in a new tab)

Topics

  • GenAI, large language models and security risks
  • Securing GenAI applications
  • Agentic AI security
  • MLSecOps and securing the GenAI application lifecycle
  • AI for security

Best for: Security practitioners who want a structured advanced course on securing LLM applications, agents and MLOps pipelines, with a linked GIAC certification

Choose by role and by what you need to show. Labs and games build skill through practice, courses add structure, and certifications give a credential others can check.

Setup

  • Start from the role. Security engineers and red teamers usually want labs they can work through. Security managers and governance leads often want a course or certification built around frameworks. ML engineers gain most from material on the model supply chain and on evaluation.
  • Decide between practice and credential. A lab builds a skill; a certification shows you passed a published syllabus.
  • Check level and prerequisites. If you are new to LLM security, start with free material.

Integration

Limits

Cost and duration appear exactly as each provider states them, with currency where the page gives one. Prices change, so confirm on the provider's page before you buy. We do not rank or score courses, we do not take them, and a listing is not an endorsement.

Courses and certifications FAQ

Are there free ways to practice AI security?

Some providers offer free labs and games. The cost on each card appears exactly as the provider states it, so read the cost line to find free options.

How do I choose between a certification and a course?

A certification examines you against a published syllabus and gives you a credential you can show. A course teaches without necessarily giving one. Choose a certification when you need the credential, and a course or lab when you need the skill.

Do you rank these courses?

No. We list what each provider states and do not rank or score courses. A listing is not an endorsement, and we do not take the courses ourselves.

Where do cost and duration come from?

From each provider's own page, with the date we checked it. If a provider does not state a value, the card says not documented instead of guessing.

What should I learn first?

Start with the OWASP Top 10 for LLM Applications to learn the risk names, then practice prompt injection and agent abuse in a lab. After that, add the area that matches your role, such as red teaming, model supply chain or governance.

Sources & last reviewed

Last reviewed . We compile from the vendors' own public pages and repositories and we do not run the products. Source links open in a new tab. Found a mistake? Report a correction.

Certified AI Security Professional (CAISP) by Practical DevSecOps (1 sources)
Cloud Security Alliance: Trusted AI Safety Expert (TAISE) (1 sources)
CompTIA SecAI+ (1 sources)
Coursera (IBM): Generative AI for Cybersecurity Professionals (1 sources)
DeepLearning.AI: Red Teaming LLM Applications (1 sources)
Hack The Box Academy: AI Red Teamer path (2 sources)
IAPP AIGP (Artificial Intelligence Governance Professional) (2 sources)
ISACA AAISM (Advanced in AI Security Management) (1 sources)
Learn Prompting: AI Red Teaming and AI Security Masterclass (AIRTP+) (1 sources)
Microsoft Learn: AI security fundamentals (3 sources)
PortSwigger Web Security Academy: Web LLM attacks (2 sources)
SANS SEC545: GenAI and LLM Application Security (2 sources)