Guide
AI security certifications and courses worth your time in 2026
Executive summary
- What it is
- AI security certifications and courses train the people who run an AI security program. Exam-based credentials from ISACA, IAPP and CSA suit managers and governance leads; CompTIA SecAI+ and lab-based courses from SANS, Hack The Box and others suit engineers and red teamers.
- The risk
- A team that adopts LLMs and agents without trained staff can miss indirect prompt injection and data leaks in review, and cannot answer an auditor's questions about AI risk. Prices, formats and exam rules change often, so check the provider page before you pay.
- What to buy or do
- Match the option to the role: an exam-based credential for managers and governance leads, a lab course for engineers and red teamers, and free labs before any paid option. Check the provider's current cost and exam page before you buy.
Short answer
The engineer who must spot an indirect prompt injection in a code review and the manager who must answer an auditor about AI risk need different training, so pick by role. Security managers and governance leads have exam-based credentials from ISACA, IAPP and CSA. Engineers and red teamers have CompTIA SecAI+ and lab-based paths from SANS, Practical DevSecOps, Hack The Box and Learn Prompting. Newcomers can start with material from PortSwigger, Microsoft and DeepLearning.AI. Costs, durations and exams change often, so we show them only as each provider states them, with the date we checked.
How we picked
We include the courses and certifications in our courses and certifications category that cover AI or LLM security, with enough facts on the provider’s own pages to compare. We compile from public provider pages and do not take the courses, so nothing here says how good a course is. “Best” in the title means a shortlist, not a ranked winner. Courses have no Coverage Score in our methodology, so nothing is ordered by a score: the page lists certifications first, then courses and labs for practice, then introductory courses, and the order inside each group is not a ranking of quality. No option on this page is a sponsored listing or carries an affiliate link. A field the provider page does not state reads as not documented.
Training sits outside the eight layers of our AI Security Layers model and supports the governance and risk layer, where the people who run the program are named and trained.
All options in one table
| Course or certification | Format | Cost as stated | Duration as stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| ISACA AAISM (Advanced in AI Security Management) ISACA Certification | Computer-based exam at PSI testing centers or remotely proctored Source, checked October 21, 2026: isaca.org (opens in a new tab) | US$459 for ISACA members or US$599 for non-members (exam), plus a US$50 application fee paid after passing Source, checked October 21, 2026: isaca.org (opens in a new tab) | Not documented in the sources we checked |
| IAPP AIGP (Artificial Intelligence Governance Professional) IAPP Certification | Computer-based exam at a Pearson VUE center or remotely through OnVUE Source, checked October 21, 2026: store.iapp.org (opens in a new tab) | US$649 for IAPP members or US$799 for non-members (exam); the non-member initial maintenance fee is included Source, checked October 21, 2026: store.iapp.org (opens in a new tab) | Not documented in the sources we checked |
| Certified AI Security Professional (CAISP) by Practical DevSecOps Practical DevSecOps Certification | Self-paced online training with browser-based labs and 24/7 instructor support Source, checked October 21, 2026: practical-devsecops.com (opens in a new tab) | List price $1099 (the page gives no currency code); a discounted price is also shown, so see the provider for the current price Source, checked October 21, 2026: practical-devsecops.com (opens in a new tab) | 60 days of browser lab access and 3 years of video access Source, checked October 21, 2026: practical-devsecops.com (opens in a new tab) |
| CompTIA SecAI+ CompTIA Certification | Certification exam of up to 60 multiple-choice and performance-based questions Source, checked October 21, 2026: comptia.org (opens in a new tab) | Not published on the provider's page Source, checked October 21, 2026: comptia.org (opens in a new tab) | Not documented in the sources we checked |
| Cloud Security Alliance: Trusted AI Safety Expert (TAISE) Cloud Security Alliance Certification | Online self-paced course in English, or virtual or in-person instructor-led lectures; sold only as a training plus exam bundle Source, checked October 21, 2026: cloudsecurityalliance.org (opens in a new tab) | $795 for the training and exam bundle, which includes 2 exam attempts valid for 2 years; there is no exam-only option Source, checked October 21, 2026: cloudsecurityalliance.org (opens in a new tab) | Not documented in the sources we checked |
| SANS SEC545: GenAI and LLM Application Security SANS Institute Course | In person or live online over 5 days, or OnDemand self-paced (30 hours) Source, checked October 21, 2026: sans.org (opens in a new tab) | US$8,260 for OnDemand (4 months of access) and some live events; US$8,375 for some other live events; excludes local taxes Source, checked October 21, 2026: sans.org (opens in a new tab) | 5 days instructor-led or 30 hours self-paced; 30 CPEs Source, checked October 21, 2026: sans.org (opens in a new tab) |
| Hack The Box Academy: AI Red Teamer path Hack The Box Learning path | Online job role path of 12 modules (230 sections) on HTB Academy Source, checked October 21, 2026: academy.hackthebox.com (opens in a new tab) | Not published on the provider's page Source, checked October 21, 2026: academy.hackthebox.com (opens in a new tab) | Not documented in the sources we checked |
| Learn Prompting: AI Red Teaming and AI Security Masterclass (AIRTP+) Learn Prompting Course | On-demand, self-paced recorded lectures with written study guides and practical projects Source, checked October 21, 2026: learnprompting.org (opens in a new tab) | $1,199 one-time payment, including the AIRTP+ exam voucher (one attempt plus one free retake) Source, checked October 21, 2026: learnprompting.org (opens in a new tab) | About 25 hours of learning, plus a separate 24-hour exam window Source, checked October 21, 2026: learnprompting.org (opens in a new tab) |
| PortSwigger Web Security Academy: Web LLM attacks PortSwigger Labs | Online, with free interactive labs Source, checked October 21, 2026: portswigger.net (opens in a new tab) | Not documented in the sources we checked | |
| Microsoft Learn: AI security fundamentals Microsoft Learning path | Online learning path of 3 modules on Microsoft Learn Source, checked October 21, 2026: learn.microsoft.com (opens in a new tab) | Not documented in the sources we checked | |
| DeepLearning.AI: Red Teaming LLM Applications DeepLearning.AI Course | Self-paced online short course: 7 video lessons, 1 reading and 1 graded quiz Source, checked October 21, 2026: deeplearning.ai (opens in a new tab) | Free to enroll when checked; the page says access is free for a limited time, so see the provider for current terms, and the graded assignment needs PRO membership Source, checked October 21, 2026: deeplearning.ai (opens in a new tab) | |
| Coursera (IBM): Generative AI for Cybersecurity Professionals IBM, offered on Coursera Learning path | Online, self-paced specialization of 3 courses with lectures, readings, assignments and projects Source, checked October 21, 2026: coursera.org (opens in a new tab) | No price stated; the page shows an Enroll for free button while its FAQ says it cannot be taken for free, and financial aid is available Source, checked October 21, 2026: coursera.org (opens in a new tab) | 12 weeks at 5 hours a week; the three courses run 8, 10 and 10 hours Source, checked October 21, 2026: coursera.org (opens in a new tab) |
Cost and duration are shown as each provider states them, with the date we checked. Check the provider for current details.
Certifications
A certification gives you a credential to show. All five below are tied to an exam, and the exam rules and fees are on each provider’s page.
ISACA AAISM
- Exam: Pass the AAISM exam, then apply for certification; the page does not state the number of questions or the exam length Source, checked October 21, 2026: isaca.org (opens in a new tab)
- Prerequisites: An active CISM or CISSP certification, plus adherence to the ISACA Code of Professional Ethics and the Continuing Professional Education Policy Source, checked October 21, 2026: isaca.org (opens in a new tab)
Best for holders of CISM or CISSP who want a credential covering AI governance, AI risk management and AI controls.
IAPP AIGP
- Exam: 100 questions in 2.75 hours plus a 15-minute break; complete within one year of purchase; the certification term is two years Source, checked October 21, 2026: store.iapp.org (opens in a new tab)
Best for people who work on AI governance and want a credential covering responsible AI principles, AI laws and risk management across the AI life cycle. For the tools side of that work, see our guide to AI governance platforms.
Certified AI Security Professional (Practical DevSecOps)
Certified AI Security Professional (CAISP) by Practical DevSecOps
Practical DevSecOps
- Exam: Online task-based exam: solve 5 challenges in 6 hours, then 24 more hours to submit a report Source, checked October 21, 2026: practical-devsecops.com (opens in a new tab)
- Prerequisites: Knowledge of running basic Linux commands; scripting in Python, Golang or Ruby is helpful but not required Source, checked October 21, 2026: practical-devsecops.com (opens in a new tab)
Best for AppSec, DevSecOps and MLOps engineers who want a self-paced course with a practical certification exam on AI and LLM security.
CompTIA SecAI+
CompTIA
- Exam: Exam series code CY0-001 (V1), launched February 17, 2026: up to 60 questions, 60 minutes, passing score 600 on a scale of 100 to 900; retirement estimated 3 years after launch Source, checked October 21, 2026: comptia.org (opens in a new tab)
- Prerequisites: Recommended experience: 3 to 4 years in IT and 2+ years in cybersecurity; Security+, CySA+, PenTest+ or equivalent knowledge is also recommended Source, checked October 21, 2026: comptia.org (opens in a new tab)
Best for IT and cybersecurity staff who hold or are working toward CompTIA credentials and want an exam that weights securing AI systems most heavily.
Cloud Security Alliance TAISE
Cloud Security Alliance: Trusted AI Safety Expert (TAISE)
Cloud Security Alliance
- Exam: 60 multiple-choice questions (6 per module), 120 minutes, 80% to pass; 2 attempts included Source, checked October 21, 2026: cloudsecurityalliance.org (opens in a new tab)
- Prerequisites: No prerequisites for the exam; basic familiarity with AI, cloud and security concepts is recommended, and CSA suggests its CCSK as foundational preparation Source, checked October 21, 2026: cloudsecurityalliance.org (opens in a new tab)
Best for professionals responsible for AI adoption, governance, compliance, risk or technical security who want a vendor-neutral certificate that bundles training and the exam.
Courses and labs for practice
These are built around practice. Three of the four also lead to an exam, which the facts below show.
SANS SEC545: GenAI and LLM Application Security
SANS SEC545: GenAI and LLM Application Security
SANS Institute
- Level: Advanced Source, checked October 21, 2026: sans.org (opens in a new tab)
- Exam: Linked GIAC AI Platform Security (GAIPS) exam: 1 proctored exam, 54 questions, 2 hours, minimum passing score 65% (versions released on or after July 25, 2026) Source, checked October 21, 2026: giac.org (opens in a new tab)
- Prerequisites: Linux command line basics, AI coding assistants, Git and CI/CD (GitLab CI), VS Code with AI extensions, container fundamentals with introductory Kubernetes, and AWS fundamentals Source, checked October 21, 2026: sans.org (opens in a new tab)
Best for security practitioners who want a structured advanced course on securing LLM applications, agents and MLOps pipelines, with a linked GIAC certification.
Hack The Box Academy: AI Red Teamer path
Hack The Box Academy: AI Red Teamer path
Hack The Box
- Level: Hard Source, checked October 21, 2026: academy.hackthebox.com (opens in a new tab)
- Exam: HTB's certifications page lists the HTB Certified Offensive AI Expert (COAE) for this path at $490; exam length not stated Source, checked October 21, 2026: academy.hackthebox.com (opens in a new tab)
Best for offensive security practitioners who want a structured path from AI fundamentals to attacking LLM applications and machine learning models.
Learn Prompting: AI Red Teaming and AI Security Masterclass
- Exam: AIRTP+ practical exam in a 24-hour window; passing the exam earns the certification, finishing the course alone does not Source, checked October 21, 2026: learnprompting.org (opens in a new tab)
- Prerequisites: Basic familiarity with AI tools like ChatGPT is useful Source, checked October 21, 2026: learnprompting.org (opens in a new tab)
Best for people who want a self-paced prompt hacking and AI red teaming course that ends with a practical certification exam.
PortSwigger Web Security Academy: Web LLM attacks
- Format: Online, with free interactive labs Source, checked October 21, 2026: portswigger.net (opens in a new tab)
- Cost: Free Source, checked October 21, 2026: portswigger.net (opens in a new tab)
The course card above links the topics it covers. Best for web developers and penetration testers who want practice labs for attacks on LLM-backed web apps.
Introductory courses
Start here if the field is new to you. These three are shorter and state their level.
Microsoft Learn: AI security fundamentals
- Level: Beginner Source, checked October 21, 2026: learn.microsoft.com (opens in a new tab)
- Prerequisites: Familiarity with basic artificial intelligence and security concepts Source, checked October 21, 2026: learn.microsoft.com (opens in a new tab)
Best for developers, administrators and security engineers who want a free introduction to AI security threats, controls and red teaming.
DeepLearning.AI: Red Teaming LLM Applications
DeepLearning.AI: Red Teaming LLM Applications
DeepLearning.AI
- Level: Beginner Source, checked October 21, 2026: deeplearning.ai (opens in a new tab)
- Prerequisites: Basic Python knowledge is recommended Source, checked October 21, 2026: deeplearning.ai (opens in a new tab)
Best for developers and security staff who want a short beginner-level introduction to red teaming LLM applications and know basic Python.
Coursera (IBM): Generative AI for Cybersecurity Professionals
Coursera (IBM): Generative AI for Cybersecurity Professionals
IBM, offered on Coursera
- Level: Intermediate Source, checked October 21, 2026: coursera.org (opens in a new tab)
- Prerequisites: None required: the page FAQ says no prior experience is necessary to get started Source, checked October 21, 2026: coursera.org (opens in a new tab)
Best for security practitioners and newcomers who want a structured introduction to generative AI and prompt engineering applied to security tasks. Read the cost line in the table closely: the provider’s page is not consistent about whether the course can be taken for free.
Free ways to practice
You can build skill before you pay for anything. Three providers state a free or free-to-enroll option:
- PortSwigger Web LLM attacks: Free Source, checked October 21, 2026: portswigger.net (opens in a new tab)
- Microsoft Learn AI security fundamentals: Free Source, checked October 21, 2026: learn.microsoft.com (opens in a new tab)
- DeepLearning.AI Red Teaming LLM Applications: Free to enroll when checked; the page says access is free for a limited time, so see the provider for current terms, and the graded assignment needs PRO membership Source, checked October 21, 2026: deeplearning.ai (opens in a new tab)
To practice against your own code, use the open-source tools in our guide to open-source AI red teaming tools. The OWASP page on prompt injection is a good reading list for any of these courses.
Picking by role
Our suggestions, which are our analysis and not a ranking.
Security manager or governance lead
Our analysis- Look at the ISACA AAISM if you already hold CISM or CISSP.
- Look at the IAPP AIGP if your work is AI governance and AI law.
- Look at the CSA TAISE if you want a vendor-neutral certificate that bundles training and the exam.
- Add the Microsoft Learn path for a refresher on threats and controls.
AppSec, DevSecOps or MLOps engineer
Our analysis- Look at the Practical DevSecOps CAISP for a practical exam you can take at your own pace.
- Look at CompTIA SecAI+ if you already work toward CompTIA credentials.
- Look at SANS SEC545 if your budget allows a live or OnDemand course with a linked GIAC exam.
- Practice on PortSwigger’s labs first if you want to see the attacks before you spend.
Penetration tester or red teamer
Our analysis- Look at the Hack The Box AI Red Teamer path and the PortSwigger labs for practice attacking AI systems.
- Look at the Learn Prompting course if you want a practical exam at the end.
- Pair either with our guide to AI red teaming platforms to see what tooling you will meet in client work.
Related guides
Training is one part of the program. The tools side is covered here:
- AI governance platforms for the governance work behind the AIGP and AAISM credentials.
- Open-source AI red teaming tools for practice with free tools.
- Securing AI agents for a control map that applies what these courses teach.
Frequently asked questions
How do the IAPP AIGP and the ISACA AAISM differ?
IAPP's AIGP is aimed at AI governance work, and ISACA's AAISM at AI security management. The AAISM page lists an active CISM or CISSP certification as a prerequisite, and we found no prerequisite on the AIGP page we read. Both are exam-based, and each provider lists its own exam fees, so check the table and the provider pages for current numbers.
Which options are free?
As the providers state it, the PortSwigger Web LLM attacks labs and the Microsoft Learn AI security fundamentals path are free, and the DeepLearning.AI short course is free to enroll, with a graded assignment that needs a paid membership. Free access can change, so check each provider's page before you plan around it.
Which options end in an exam?
The IAPP AIGP, the ISACA AAISM, CompTIA SecAI+ and the CSA TAISE are built around an exam, and CSA sells TAISE only as a training and exam bundle. The Practical DevSecOps CAISP and the Learn Prompting course each end in a practical exam, SANS SEC545 links to a GIAC exam, and Hack The Box lists a certification for its AI Red Teamer path. The Microsoft Learn path and the PortSwigger labs describe no exam in the pages we read.
How do I choose between a certification and a practice course?
Choose by what you need to show and to do. A certification gives you a credential that employers can check, and it suits management and governance roles. A course with labs builds practical skill in attacking and defending LLM applications. Many practitioners combine a free lab with one credential. This answer is our analysis.
Key facts you can cite
-
ISACA AAISM (Advanced in AI Security Management) lists its cost as: US$459 for ISACA members or US$599 for non-members (exam), plus a US$50 application fee paid after passing.
Source Source, checked October 21, 2026: isaca.org (opens in a new tab) Checked
-
IAPP AIGP (Artificial Intelligence Governance Professional) lists its cost as: US$649 for IAPP members or US$799 for non-members (exam); the non-member initial maintenance fee is included.
Source Source, checked October 21, 2026: store.iapp.org (opens in a new tab) Checked
-
Certified AI Security Professional (CAISP) by Practical DevSecOps lists its cost as: List price $1099 (the page gives no currency code); a discounted price is also shown, so see the provider for the current price.
Source Source, checked October 21, 2026: practical-devsecops.com (opens in a new tab) Checked
-
CompTIA SecAI+ lists its cost as: Not published on the provider's page.
Source Source, checked October 21, 2026: comptia.org (opens in a new tab) Checked
-
Cloud Security Alliance: Trusted AI Safety Expert (TAISE) lists its cost as: $795 for the training and exam bundle, which includes 2 exam attempts valid for 2 years; there is no exam-only option.
Source Source, checked October 21, 2026: cloudsecurityalliance.org (opens in a new tab) Checked
Sources & last reviewed
Standards and references (1 sources)
ISACA AAISM (Advanced in AI Security Management) (1 sources)
- isaca.org/credentialing/aaism checked
IAPP AIGP (Artificial Intelligence Governance Professional) (2 sources)
- iapp.org/certify/aigp checked
- store.iapp.org/aigp-exam checked
Certified AI Security Professional (CAISP) by Practical DevSecOps (1 sources)
CompTIA SecAI+ (1 sources)
Cloud Security Alliance: Trusted AI Safety Expert (TAISE) (1 sources)
SANS SEC545: GenAI and LLM Application Security (2 sources)
Hack The Box Academy: AI Red Teamer path (2 sources)
Learn Prompting: AI Red Teaming and AI Security Masterclass (AIRTP+) (1 sources)
PortSwigger Web Security Academy: Web LLM attacks (2 sources)
- portswigger.net/web-security checked
- portswigger.net/web-security/llm-attacks checked